Skip to content

Moving on…

November 10, 2009

 

movin

 

A couple of months ago, I had a flu and was stuck in bed for a few days. (So many of my stories start this way). Towards the end when I was starting to feel better, but still on orders to get out of doing dishes…I mean rest, I began praying about this blog and ideas started flowing faster than I could write them down.

I started blogging at the very end of last year. In the last 11 months or so, I’ve been able to just blog freely and express whatever is on my heart at any given moment. All the new ideas, though, pointed towards me being more focused on a certain theme.

Most of what I’ve been writing actually fits into that theme, and in the last couple of months, I’ve seen this theme emerge more and more. I just need to be more intentional about that theme.

I know I’m being very cryptic! I want to keep the main premise a surprise for now, but I am so excited about where God is taking me.

Within a couple of weeks of finding this new direction, I was accepted as a contributor to three of my favorite websites. The same week, I was approached to do my first product review. By now, I’m feeling pretty official. Then, my birthday rolled around and I received some money from family members. I usually save my birthday money to buy my kids gifts when their birthday rolls around.

Eric ordered me to spend the money on myself this year. No paying bills, no buying the kids anything. That sweet, annoying man. I know he was blessing me. Yet –as tempted as I was to improve my shoe wardrobe–it really drove me crazy. Thankfully, God opened my eyes. Hello! I had just had my blogging epiphany and in that were lots of dreams, starting with my own website. (Right now I use a free WordPress site.) I decided to invest the money in a new site and designer.

The blog designer I was hankering to use was not currently accepting orders. I went ahead and ordered my domain name and decided to just wait for her to be available because, believe me, she is worth the wait.  (Check out her site:  Graphically Designing)

Her queue is open now, and I placed my order so I’m just waiting my turn. So, waiting. But it’s a good, busy, kind of waiting! The kind of waiting that is accompanied by anticipation. Oh I just love it when God gives direction! So often I feel I am in a season of waiting for direction and I must say I really prefer this kind of season…the one marked by happy work towards what God has called me to do.

While I want to keep some of the new stuff under wraps until I launch the site, I do want to share some exciting things here. Actually, I’m just too excited to keep it all to myself and my husband might be a tad tired of hearing about it. The guy should get a medal for listening.

So, a couple of the details I’m working on:

Store: I have created a little shop on Amazon with resources I think you’ll love. Honestly, it looks a lot like my bookshelf. That’s because I only picked books and products I’ve read or used over and over. 

Book Club: I am working on developing an online book club for readers. Right now, I’m deciding between fiction and non-fiction. What would you prefer? You can answer in the poll on my sidebar.

If you are an email subscriber here, your subscription will be transferred automatically, so you don’t have to worry about finding the new site.  I am hoping RSS feeds can be transferred as well, but I honestly don’t know yet.  Either way, I will be linking there from here so I’ll be easy to find!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 8:20 am

    Thank you for this article. Found it on facebook. I cannot tell in a few words what it means to me. Let us not take anything for granted. Let us always, in all ways and in every circumstance, be thankful because there is always something to be thankful for. I am thankful for you.

  2. Turtlemomma permalink
    November 10, 2009 8:53 am

    Cool Beans!

  3. aiesha mcb permalink
    November 10, 2009 6:51 pm

    Wow~ I viewed the site…and that does look like an AWESOME designer…I just thank God for you and your ministry :O)…..sometimes I think that if all Christians were operating in our own unique ministry….BOY….WE’D be hard to beat! BTW…I WOULD LOVE A NON FICTION BOOK CLUB! LOVE IT….this is the sidebar…I couldn’t find the poll in the sidebar…sometimes I’m internet illiterate 🙂

  4. November 10, 2009 7:38 pm

    I’m excited to hear what you’ve got going on! 🙂 I am also thrilled to have you with us on The Homeschool Classroom.

    (Can’t wait to see once you get a makeover. Darcy did my blog, and The Homeschool Classroom is on her queue now as well.)

  5. November 14, 2009 8:41 pm

    Yay for you. I can’t wait to see the new site. I’m sure it will be amazing.

Leave a Reply

