Skip to content

100 Posts! Some of My Favorite Comments

October 12, 2009

I had a couple things in mind for my next post. I still need to share our course of study for first grade. I have a review I’m working on for SpellQuizzer. I was on my blog’s dashboard today, though, and saw that I have 99 posts. Which means…this is my

100th post!

Thought it should be something special.

Then, of course, nothing I thought of seemed special enough.

Except, then I thought of this: You guys! (Or ladies, for the most part) My readers! Some of you I’ve gotten to know through the comments here, and some of you even send me sweet emails.

For this, my…

100th post!

I am going to share some of my favorite comments left by readers.  I couldn’t fit them all here, so sorry if I missed you.

 

Sometimes, they make me laugh out loud, like this one that Jewel left after reading Summer!

Will you adopt me? I’m 37 but I promise to go to bed on time (except during slumber parties) and to pick up any popcorn I drop on the floor.

Sometimes, more than once, they’ve made me cry. Here, Joy (turtle momma) replies after reading Old Memories of a New Season.

Funny. Im reading this as my 10yr old is in time out for her attitude. Its just a season in life, and when shes done, I’ll give her a big hug. Someday, I wont have any kids for time out clip_image001Someday the hugs wont come every day or evening before bed. But then we will be proud of who they have become and can look forward to grandchildren.
Joy
 

My mom (known as mamala) is my most frequent commenter (go figure). I tell her that she practically has her own blog going in my comments section here, and needs to go ahead and start one already! One of my favorites, she wrote in response to Two Words I Can’t Stop Saying:

I just know that ‘be careful’ is the most universal, useless, parental directive around. I also know that until I became an adult (with my eye on the end of my life as it quickly advanced in my direction) did I really become careful.
I have become quite careful not to die and leave my loved ones behind, immobilized by their grief. I’ve become cognitive of the reality of the consequences of picking up hitch hikers, or going with a hippie to a second location.
Sadly, or maybe happily, although I had always promised the parents, “Yes, yes, I will be soooo careful”, I wasn’t, and yet, I’ve lived to tell. At that point of your life you feel invincible, super-hero-ish, and way smarter than those fools whose early demise had made it into the evening paper.
So I’ve said all of that to say this:
I will continue to urge, “Be careful,” to any and everyone leaving me even briefly. And I will continue to expect that the very weight of those words will wrap a thin protective shell around them until they come back to me.

There are days when I think of quitting blogging.  I stink!  Why bother…are frequent thoughts.  Inevitably, something like this comment from Rhonda will pop up and make me smile.  And keep going.

Hey Angela,
I don’t have any ideas for you, but I just wanted to say how much I love all of YOUR ideas. Every time I read your blog I am so proud of who you’ve become. I wish I knew your girls. I imagine they are amazing young women.

Awww!  Rhonda was my youth pastor’s wife, when I was growing up, and a good friend and mentor to a young me, so this was extra-special to read.  By the way, she has an awesome photoblog.  Check it out.

 

I never asked readers what my blog should be about, but two comments here have really given me something to think about as I write. This first sweet comment was from my Aunt Nancy after reading Ministry of a Mom, and she unwittingly gave me a defined purpose in writing here:

Dear sweet talented Angela – you have always been an inspiration to me and our family. You are loving and giving beyond belief. I appreciate that you are writing this blog and letting us be a part of you and your thoughts. You make me believe I too can be a better mom, wife and family member.
God bless you.

To make any mom believe she can be a better mom, wife, and family member is a worthy goal!  This coming from my super-aunt who could give Martha Stewart a run for her money…but stayed home and did it all for her family instead….ooops now I’m crying again!  Good stuff. Sniff.

 

Another comment that worked its way into my philosophy of writing, is this one–also from Joy–on 10 Date-Gifts to Give Your Husband:

This is great and another reason why I like your blog. All your fun ideas for home and the wholesome ideas for our hearts.

I have been thinking much lately about what makes its way into this blog, and the two comments above have given me direction for filtering.  Fun ideas for home, wholesome ideas for hearts, and to make every mom believe she can be a better wife and mom.  Great goals indeed!

In fact, I have some exciting new things planned for my blog in the next couple of months and the comments I get here are shaping my new venture…so keep ‘em coming!  If you’re a reader, regular or new…won’t you leave a comment and say Hi today?  Doesn’t have to be anything fancy, but you might help me out if you mention what you’d like to see more or less of.  Or is there a need in your own life you’d like to see addressed?  Maybe you just want to pop in and say Hi!  That’s fun, too!

If you have something you’d like to say and you’re just to shy to say it here, shoot me an email!  angelamills@verizon.net I promise not to print it here if it’s via email ( 🙂 )

Looking forward to hearing from you!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 2:35 pm

    Great list of quotes Angela. The great thing about running an engaging blog is the variety of feedback you receive. No two people or opinions are alike.

    I’m new to your blog and look forward to future postings 🙂

    RB

  2. turtlemomma permalink
    October 13, 2009 7:23 am

    100!!
    100 kisses
    100 hugs
    100 ideas
    100 bugs?

    Hee hee.

    Thank you for posting every post. You truly inspire me and Im honored to inspire you back. Such a blessing it was for us to find each other on F.B.!

  3. October 16, 2009 12:17 pm

    Congrats on your 100th post! May you have 900 more great posts!!! 🙂

  4. mamala permalink
    October 17, 2009 5:11 pm

    Oh how fast they grow up, those newbie blogs–scared at first that you won’t know how to take care of them, maybe you will drop them on their little blog heads–and then the calendar tells you–YOU MADE IT, DUCKY. You have what it takes, you soldiered on, and where is it that you have landed? Why, right at the bottom of your very next hill. I have every confidence.

  5. October 18, 2009 9:57 pm

    I’m just getting caught up on reading after being away from the computer for awhile.
    Yay for 100 posts. Congratulations!!!!

    And I want you to know I mean every word of the comment you posted above. I may not get to see you, but I still LOVE you and pray for you. AND I’m so glad to have reconnected with you this way.

Leave a Reply

