Skip to content

The I Love My Husband Book

October 5, 2009

IMG_7874

 

A while back, I wrote about 10 ideas for date-gifts for your husband. Today, I want to share another gift idea, this one a little more meaningful.

Two anniversaries ago, I bought a blank journal for Eric. Now, this might have been an awful gift because Eric isn’t a writer by nature but this book wasn’t for him to fill. It’s for him to read. I write him a letter in it every so often. Never as often as I want, but over time the pages are filling up.

In the beginning of his book, I wrote that I never wanted him to feel that he had to read it, it would just be on the shelf whenever he wanted to pick it up. (Yes, that was more of a reminder for me than him!) He immediately put it on his nightstand and declared it was staying there. I also said I didn’t want to feel pressured to write in it so I wasn’t going to try to write every day. (Again, more for me to remember than him.)

Sometimes I will go a long time and forget to write in it at all. He’s never mentioned it, but one time when I went a few weeks without adding anything, he very subtly left it out on our bed. My heart melted when I realized he looked forward to reading the notes. As I said, Eric doesn’t really enjoy writing but one day I even found an entry written back to me from him. Made my day.

On the front page, it says

For Eric

and underneath I wrote out:

I thank my God every time I remember you. Philippians 1:3

I have determined to let nothing negative appear on its pages. Every entry must be positive in every way. After all, I hope he has this forever! My prayer is that not only will he feel encouraged and built up when he reads this book, but that he can always look through it and see the many wonderful thoughts I have about him on a daily basis. When we’ve grown old, we can both look back and see what a wonderful husband he’s been.

I can hear some women saying…well my husband isn’t that great. And I will answer like I always do. Most husbands are great; maybe some just need a little help from their wives finding that greatness. And really, why not strip away any negative memories and focus on the positive ones?

Honestly, there are some days here in the present when a quick glance through the book reminds me of what a great guy I’ve got. I don’t care how great your marriage is, we all need reminding sometimes. So, great gift for him, but also…great gift for me.

Here are some things I’ve shared:

· Thanks for things he’s done. Both big things like taking the kids out so I could have alone time and little things like reminding me to take my vitamins.

· Thanks for who he is.

· Verses I’ve come across in my daily reading that I think will bless him.

· Written out prayers for him.

· Lists of things I love about him.

· I once wrote a list of all the way he takes care of me.

· Lots of notes telling him why and how I love him.

· Other things that are too private to share!

 

Other Ideas:

I do understand that this is something that comes easily to me, since I just love expressing myself through writing. Maybe some of you aren’t comfortable writing. You could instead create a sort of scrapbook type journal filled with images and quotes that will inspire your husband and show him what you think of when you think about him.

· Write out a verse.

· Copy quotes from literature that make you think of him.

· Drawings or watercolor paintings.

· Magazine picture collages.

· Photos!  A photo journal can speak volumes!

 

To Get Your Brain Started:

Maybe you have a desire to write for him and just don’t have any ideas. Here are some writing prompts for you:

· Share the “high” point of you day when it has to do with him.

· Write an acrostic poem using his name. Use a thesaurus if you get stuck!

· List the physical features you love.

· Share memories from earlier years. What attracted you to him in the first place?

· Start a list of things you love about your husband.

· Think about the last week. What is one thing you couldn’t have done without your husband’s help? Write about that.

· Does your husband provide for you financially or does he watch the kids so you can work? Thank him for that.

· Write a positive review of your last intimate encounter. (That sentence took me a while to construct. You all know what I mean, right?)

 

When I picked out Eric’s book, I searched until I found one that i felt looked the most “like him.”  The one I found is shown above…I liked the rustic look and the flappy part in front.  He was really into these archaeologist stories when I found it, and it looked to me like an old field book, so I knew he’d dig it.  If you can, find one that matches your man’s personality.

Remember, you don’t have to wait for a monumental moment to have something to write about. I once wrote an entire page about how I love eating burritos and watching 24 with him. It turned into this whole thing about how I can be myself with him. 

Besides blessing your husband, I think you’ll find that keeping an I love you book will increase your own awareness of how awesome that guy God gave you really is.  Who wouldn’t want that?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 8:17 am

    What a wonderful idea!

  2. mamala permalink
    October 6, 2009 12:05 pm

    Just when I think that you can’t make me any prouder–you blow every other idea out of the water-
    MAN OH MAN Ducky, this is your best one ever.
    I will do this.

  3. turtlemomma permalink
    October 7, 2009 6:26 am

    Such a wonderful wife you are. The journal is also a good idea for Christmas. We are all struggling with our bills so a nice little journal is so meaningful and helps you keep your $$ for bills.
    Another idea is just to decorate a journal yourself. Maybe that could be done as one of the entries. Sports stickers, family pictures, a special drawing, a map of where you went on your honeymoon are all ideas Ive had just sitting here on how I could decorate my husbands journal. 😉
    Ooo One more.. you could press a little flower in the pages.
    Hee hee.

    Joy

  4. October 7, 2009 9:20 am

    I followed your link to hear from a comment you made on the Simple Mom blog.

    I love this idea. And I think my husband would love it too… I might steal it!!

  5. Diane permalink
    October 7, 2009 11:06 pm

    This was such a blessing to read. I needed to be encouraged on better ways to show my husband how much I love him.

  6. melodie111 permalink
    October 8, 2009 10:19 am

    Love this idea. I’m a writer, not a talker. My husband is the opposite. I’ve contemplated an idea like this but like how you listed ideas of what to write about. Thank you for sharing!
    Melodie

    http://www.themonbergs.com

  7. Eric permalink
    October 13, 2009 9:41 am

    It’s always nice to know that this gift lasts a lifetime, but at the same time it’s new every time I open it.

Leave a Reply

