Skip to content

The Season of Waiting

July 14, 2009

I am in a season of waiting. 

Waiting for God to reveal His plan in so many areas.  Waiting for a church where my family will belong.  Waiting for a new group of friends after losing many when we left our old church.  Waiting for the right time to implement some ministry ideas.  Waiting for the time to write the book I have started.  Waiting for the go ahead to put into effect all the things I want to do on this blog.

Waiting.

I had this epiphany today in the shower, where I do all my great thinking.  I have discovered a great secret.  If you let my TV-deprived kids watch an episode of a favorite show on Netflix, I am guaranteed to have 15 whole minutes to myself to shower.  I try to spend this time singing praise songs, but often my brain creeps in.

When, God?  I said today.  The time to write my book is not now.  The time to plan next school year is not now…not yet.  There’s some waiting I need to do, there, too.  So, when?  That’s when it dawned on me.  The season of waiting thing.  I pictured myself wandering through this little valley and wondered where I’ll end up. 

With a little sigh, out of the shower now and combing through my wet hair, I resigned myself to the fact.  Maybe God is trying to teach me something.  Or, ooh…maybe He is using me in some way.  Even better!

I lifted my head, noble and proud.  Yes, I am Waiting On God.  Sounds kinda cool, doesn’t it?  I walked then through the laughter in my living room to hang my swimsuit on our clothesline in the back yard and a small voice interrupted the regal soundtrack running through my head as I marched. 

You don’t have it too bad, do you?  I guess if I have to wait, this is a pretty good place to do it.  Here I am, freshening up to go to a movie with my sister-in-law after a day of lounging in the pool with my kiddos.  I pictured someone coming home to an empty apartment waiting on God to bring them a family.  Or an imprisoned Christian, waiting on God to break them free.  A mom waiting for God to bring her runaway child home.

Suddenly, I didn’t feel so noble anymore.  In fact, I felt downright ordinary, in a very blessed sort of way.  I may be waiting on some things, but I know this for sure.  Right now, today, God has called me to be a mom to my kids and a wife to my husband.  And even if that is all He ever has for me to do, it’s enough.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mamala permalink
    July 15, 2009 4:18 am

    You gave credence to what we all usually think of as ‘doing nothing’–when in fact—the time is ripe (if indeed we will let it be) with teachable moments from our Teacher Extraordinaire.

  2. Becky Doughty permalink
    July 15, 2009 4:24 pm

    Angela – wow! You pegged it so beautifully. What a blessing you are – I love these tidbits from Angela’s insides. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Teresa Mohler permalink
    July 16, 2009 6:24 am

    Thank you for this beautiful post! I’ve found myself waiting so many times and so many times I get impatient and try to start doing everything myself. It’s such a failure when I do! Thank you for reminding me of this. I think I’m doing that right now again. lol

  4. July 16, 2009 7:54 pm

    Great post! I believe being a mom and wife – and doing your best at it is a VERY HIGH CALLING.
    You’re doing a great job!

  5. July 22, 2009 8:34 pm

    I do my best thinking in the shower as well; I wonder why that is? Maybe because its the only place we are ever alone. That is until my little one comes in looking for me, presses her nose against the glass door and asks,”what ya’ doin’ mama?” Nothing baby, nothing just waiting. 😉

Leave a Reply

