Skip to content

Our Homeschool: Things to NOT do next year

June 8, 2009

Our year is wrapping up here, and I started making this list for myself.  I decided to share it with you all.  Maybe you have made some of these same mistakes, or maybe you will at least be encouraged that you are not as bad as I am!  Here goes…

Things NOT to do next year!

  • Sit the kids down on the first day of school and give them a syllabus for every subject.  I will also not tell them what they will be doing for the entire year, all of the wonderful projects and notebooks I have planned since I will probably only get to half of them.  I will also not go on and on…and on, about my ideas, calendar, scheduling, etc.  Go with the flow is my new motto. 

 

  • Cry, “We’re so far behind!”  It is my job as mom to motivate the girls a little if we need to move forward.  I shouldn’t be adding to their stress by reminding them of how “behind” we might be. 

 

  • Text Eric during spelling tests.  Apparently, “Teachers just don’t do that!”  (Something else I’ve been told teachers don’t do:  Say What the heck? really loudly while grading their student’s papers.  I really am going to stop doing that.)

 

  • Give Coco a “freebie” in her science crossword worksheet, spell it wrong, and wind up with her spending an hour trying to find words that don’t exist.  Oops.

 

  • Plan a unit study for every subject.  In fact, I will try to erase the words Unit Study from my brain.  I will, I will I will.  Okay, I probably won’t.  But I will rein in the ideas, and instead of feeling I have to use every idea that pops into my brain, I will just post them here for others to use!

 

  • Behavior modification tricks like tickets, marble jars, etc.  This was cute when I was teaching preschool, but it just really doesn’t fit into our life naturally.  And that’s what I’d like our homeschool to grow to be, a natural part of our everyday life.  Besides, I’m one of those moms that thinks my kids should listen to me “just because.”  So all that stuff was just a distraction anyway. 

 

  • Sign up for every class, lesson, meeting, and group that has the word homeschool attached to it.  Really.

 

  • Feel guilty for taking Coco out of a school she loved and compensate for this by planning fun, fun, fun all the time, time, time.  The real world has downtime.  And I need mine. 

 

  • Schedule our day in 20 minute increments.  All this does is make me feel guilty.  And I am done with guilt!

 

  • Spend my free time reading curriculum catalogs for even more great ideas to heap on my kids.  In fact, I vow to go six whole months without even giving a thought to what we’ll use and do the next year.  Okay, maybe vow is too strong a word…

 So there they are, all my embarrassing mistakes for all to see.  Most of them anyway.  My girls would probably have many more ideas, but I’m not asking them 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacy permalink
    June 9, 2009 7:42 am

    too funny Angela… each year definitley gets easier to feel how homeschooling fits into your life.. your kids are blessed to have you as their mom 🙂

  2. christy permalink
    June 9, 2009 12:34 pm

    thats too funny girl. We still do the marble jar but its more for exceptional work or going above and beyond. I keep a box with little things they love and dont get very often and let me tell you it does the trick. But I agree I dont reward for just being “good” cause thats expected. 🙂

  3. mamala permalink
    June 10, 2009 4:18 am

    Sounds like FREEDOM is in the house.
    Yay!

  4. June 23, 2009 9:54 pm

    I love this post! I have thought so many of the same things. I hope that you’re enjoying your summer time. I have been having a great time getting caught up on things that I have been so far behind in doing!

    Please let me know if you might be interested in having this post published as a guest article at The Homeschool Classroom! I think our readers would LOVE it too!

  5. July 14, 2009 6:07 pm

    I just read your post on the Homeschool Classroom. Thanks for sharing it. It was encouraging!

Leave a Reply

