Skip to content

Nothing Worth Doing…

May 6, 2009

One of my favored sayings came to bite me in the rear this week.  “It’s haaaard,” is not really said much at my house.  It is the quickest way to get my lecture entitled:  Nothing Worth Doing is Ever Easy.  Often followed up with another favorite…You Think This is Hard?

I caught myself yesterday, unloading on Eric.  Homeschooling is really hard.  Keeping a clean house while homeschooling is harder.  Trying to write a book and keep up a blog while homeschooling…impossible!

He had lots of husbandly advice.  Our conversation was interesting.  It went something like this:

Me:  It’s too hard to do everything, blah, blah, blah.  I’m not doing this blog anymore, it sucks. 

Him:  Well, okay.  You don’t have to write.

Me:  When I don’t, I feel dead inside.   Kill me now.

Him:  Well, you don’t have to write the blog and your book.

Me:   Actually,  I kind of do.

Him:  Well, then wake up when you say you will.  (Okay, he didn’t actually say this, but believe me, he said it with his eyes.)

Me:  But I have to get up at four in the morning to have time for it, and when we don’t go to sleep until 11, that is like, really hard!

Him:  So we’ll go to sleep earlier.

Me:  No, we won’t.

Him:  Yeah, we probably won’t. 

Him:  Then why don’t you only write on the blog once a week?

Me:  Seriously?  

Him:  Well, you need sleep, and you actually do all those things you write about, so…

Me:  Uh, yeah.  That’s my point.

Him:  So, have the kids do more independent work.

Me:  And what, stick them in front of a computer all day? 

At this point, he distracted me.  And it worked pretty well.  But then, later as I was trying to fall asleep my mind was turning again.  God, I think you want me to do all this, so why is it so hard?

Because nothing worth doing is ever easy, you dork.    

Ohhh.

Darn.

All that to say…I am trying to finish this book I’m writing by the summer.  So until then, I am going to try for a while to post three times a week instead of every day.   We’ll see how that goes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2009 7:40 pm

    I understand being busy and having to cut back. I’ve actually considered going to 3 posts a week also.

    You do what you have to do. I’m subscribed so whenever you post it will show up and then I’ll be all happy!

    If you need to cut back then cut back. Your sanity and family should always come before your blog. Besides, I really enjoy your blog and wouldn’t want you to get all burnt out and not posting at all.

  2. mamala permalink
    May 7, 2009 5:41 am

    Oh Duck, you are so hard on yourself.
    I love the line, “Okay, He didn’t actually say this, but believe me, he said it with his eyes”.
    Laughed out loud at that one–it is SO YOU.
    I, as your mama, now bequeath to you–total control over your whole life.
    You may blog–or not.
    You may author your book–or not.
    You may clean your house–or not.
    And remember–these are not categories of good and bad.
    These are but a few of the thousands of options thrown our way every day.
    You aren’t BAD if you elect to save your energies for what is happening at this particular time in your lives.
    Jeepers, Ang, I think your biggest adversary is your imagination–your brain works at nano speeds, and is constantly coming up with great ideas, new ways to be more Christ to your world. And this is most wonderful. Until you begin to feel less than adequate if you don’t act on them all.
    Now I’ve said all of that to say this:
    I would miss your blogs terribly if they went bye-bye permanently. So I vote for you idea of economizing–this way we still win. Us and you. But if you have to put them to bed for awhile–I will still love and honor you–and God will make a way, when He wants to.
    As for your book–you are well on your way, and you know that anything that God puts into you–He will also provide the avenue to get there on. Without insanity.
    You should never have let us all see how utterly cool, wildly creative, and hilarious you are–now we are hooked.
    But we also know what being a mom is all about.
    Rest daughter.
    You’ve earned it.

  3. turtlemomma permalink
    May 7, 2009 10:07 am

    To blog or not to blog…

    Just as a note of encouragement:
    I really enjoy your blogs and Im so sure that other people enjoy them as much as I do. LIke I said, ideas for the heart, soul , and home.
    I dont always have time to read your blogs right away so if you cut down a few days or maybe took two days to write a blog entry or something, I sure wouldnt mind!

    HAPPY MOTHERS DAY!! BTW.

    Joy

  4. christy permalink
    May 10, 2009 5:39 pm

    Oh man everyone feels like that sometimes girly, you do what you need to and I will wait with baited breath for your next post. 🙂 I am so glad we reconnected and are getting to know each other. 🙂 Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

