Skip to content

A Charlotte Mason Rookie

April 24, 2009

There are almost as many approaches to homeschool as there are homeschool families, and there are many that appeal to me as a teacher-mom.  One of these is the Charlotte Mason approach.  She was an educator, and some say the “Mother of the homeschooling movement,” in the 1800s.

While I do not agree with Charlotte Mason’s philosophy of education on the whole, I genuinely appreciate much of her methodology.  I suppose I am an eclectic homeschooler, picking and choosing from many different approaches to make my own.

Several of her techniques fascinate me and after a year of studying her writings and others’ interpretations of her ideas, I am ready to try a few for myself.   Here are the aspects of her approach that I can’t wait to try:

*      Narration

*      Living books

*      Nature study

*      Short Lessons

*      Picture study

For the next five Fridays, I will attempt to define each of these techniques and then share how our family put it into practice, and the results.  I do not expect that a one-time use of any approach will prove much, but I thought it would be interesting at least. 

For those of you who may have been interested in trying some of these things, it will be chance to see how a rookie mom does.  Perhaps you would like to experiment along with me!  Or maybe you are an old hand at all this and can offer up some tips. 

If you are new to homeschooling, or curious, there is an easy to read article on different approaches available at the Homeschool Marketplace Ejournal.  I am leaning towards a somewhat Classical approach, while using Charlotte Mason methods and Unit studies.  I am sure the author of any particular approach would have a problem with this, but it works for us.

More resources:

Design your homeschool has many approaches explained, including a couple I’ve never heard of.  There are multiple links for each one, so settle in and prepare to learn lots!

Cindy Rushton:  Click on the ezine: Homeschool, Digging into all the options for a great pdf.

About.com has an article detailing different approaches here also.

Next week, we’ll take a crack at narration and I’ll let you know how that goes.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. christy permalink
    April 28, 2009 10:33 am

    It’s fun to see how everyone has a different approach. I learn new things all the time from other people and I also learn over time what is working in our classroom and what is a flop. 🙂 We need to meet up and let the kids play.

Leave a Reply

