Skip to content

The Up Side of Being Sick

April 14, 2009

I am sick in bed with something.  I don’t know exactly what, but I have my suspicions.  The doctor thrust a prescription for antibiotics at me and it wasn’t until I was halfway home I realized I had no diagnosis.  That’s okay, though, because any mom can tell you that sores on the back of the throat accompanied by a fever is probably strep.

Whatever it is, I am in pain and exhausted by simple acts like showering.  Of course, I must always remind myself that this is nothing compared to the suffering many are going through around the world right now.

As much as I dreaded getting dressed and wearing myself out just to go sit in a room full of hacking sickos, then waiting hours for my chance to be prodded for a whole thirty seconds before being dismissed…it could be worse.

I know I annoy some people with my tendency to look on the bright side of things, but I can’t help it.  If I don’t, then I will convince myself that I am dying and I’ll drive everyone around me crazy. 

So, today I’d like to list a few things I am grateful for in light of being sick.  I’ll admit it’s partly because my mind isn’t working properly (earlier I couldn’t remember the word for box) so this is no time to ponder life.  Maybe it will annoy some of you, so I am sorry for that.  On the other hand, if you are annoyed, maybe you need a little thankful list of your own J  

Here goes.  I am thankful because…

·         I have insurance that allows me to go to the doctor any time I like.

·         My doctor’s office, even the urgent care center, is clean, nearby, and modern.

·         I do not have to call in sick to work, or worse attend work sick in order to keep a crappy job.

·         I can actually drive through our pharmacy and get the proper medicine I need in under an hour.

·         I can stay home, guilt-free, in my pajamas, directing school from the couch if needed.

·         My daughters think it is great fun to have lessons on their own while mommy reads in bed. 

·         Today, my husband brought a new book home so I could actually do just that. 

·         My bed is comfy and warm.  I have blankets, pillows, and perfect socks.

·         Everyone in my extended family asks, “What do you need?”  as soon as they hear I am even a little sick. 

·         As yucky as I feel, I can still walk, talk, hug, laugh, sing, and countless other things to be thankful for.

·         Lastly, when I forget to be thankful and start whining, my family still loves me.

 

See, I feel better already.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. mamala permalink
    April 15, 2009 4:24 am

    This is why I love you.

Leave a Reply

