Skip to content

By No Other Name

April 9, 2009

When I am talking to a friend, it is nearly impossible to go an entire conversation and not have the names of Eric, Coco, or Soleil come up.  Whether I am relating the latest cute thing one of my girls said or talking about something we’ve done recently, most my conversations revolve around them.

This makes perfect sense.  Who I am, after all, is all wrapped up in the people I share a life with.  I can’t go a few minutes without thinking of them, let alone speaking to or about them.    

A few years ago, I was doing a Bible study and it was talking about the power in the name of Jesus.  I realized as I read it that I was not in the habit of saying Jesus very often.  Other than in the ‘in Jesus’ name I pray’ way.

This realization made me sad.  Sure, I would tell of God’s wonderful works in my life, but to actually say the name of Jesus was rare.  I don’t know why this was, it just was.

I heard Greg Laurie say one time that you can say the name of any religious figure and get almost no response, but when you say Jesus, people react.  While I don’t want to toss around His name just because, I also didn’t want to go day by day and not acknowledge Him, either.

I made a concentrated effort back then to talk more about Jesus.  To get in the habit of daily saying His name was not easy.  I was (and still am) just used to saying, “God has done this for me,” or “God is so good.”  Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

I didn’t question my feelings back then; I just tried to say Jesus more often.  I felt I should, so I did.  Then, a couple weeks ago at church, our pastor taught on Acts 4.  This verse jumped out at me:

          Then know this, you and all the people of Israel: It is by the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, whom you crucified but whom God raised from the dead, that this man stands before you healed. He is
   ” ‘the stone you builders rejected,
      which has become the capstone.
 Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to men by which we must be saved.” – Acts 4:10-12

By no other name will we be saved! It is good and necessary to proclaim the works of God, my father.   But it is by the name of Jesus that we are saved.  And so that name should be often on my lips!

With Good Friday and Easter upon us, we naturally think, hear, and speak more about Jesus.  I for one want to let the work of the cross and the joy of the resurrection spill over into the rest of the year. 

Say it with me today…Jesus!

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    April 10, 2009 8:25 am

    Hi Angela, I came across your blog on the problogger challenge post and this post is fitting for Good Friday reflections, thank you for sharing, xo

  2. April 10, 2009 8:34 am

    This is a good reminder to all of us to speak of Jesus often, and to speak to Jesus all day long. Thanks.

    Shari
    http://sharilyle-soffe.com

  3. mamala permalink
    April 10, 2009 10:23 am

    ‘Member this one:
    “Jesus, Jesus, Jesus, there’s just something about that name.
    Maste, Savior, Jeeesus,
    like the fragrance after the raaain.
    Jesus, Jesus, Jesus, let all heaven and earth proclaim:
    Kings and kingdoms shall all pass away–there’s just something about that name.”

    I find myself singing this sometimes as I think about His name–It binds me to Him.

  4. turtlemomma permalink
    April 10, 2009 10:56 am

    Yeah, thats a great idea. I asked myself, “why dont I talk about Jesus like I talk about my kids??” God IS Good and hes doing a good work in you.

    Cathleen, I love that song. Thank you for putting up all the words because its been so long since Ive heard em.

    Joy

  5. April 10, 2009 2:12 pm

    Just stopped by from the 31 Day Challenge, and was so pleased to stumble on a blog not dissimilar to mine at http://mysquiggles.com

    This post resonated with me. I have no trouble talking to my kids about what God is doing in our lives, but find myself talking about Jesus less often. Something for me to think about too!

  6. April 10, 2009 3:27 pm

    Dropping in from the pro blogger challenge. Great post and thank you for putting up acts 4. We all need a reminder now and then. I homeschool as well and can be found at http://www.mytwoblessings.com.

  7. April 10, 2009 7:25 pm

    Very insightful. =0)

  8. angelamills permalink*
    April 14, 2009 6:56 pm

    Thanks for stopping by, Robin!

  9. angelamills permalink*
    April 14, 2009 6:58 pm

    Yes, mom, I remember!

Leave a Reply

