Skip to content

10 Date-Gifts to Give Your Husband

April 7, 2009

Today, Eric and I have been married for nine years.  Tonight we’re celebrating by going to dinner at a place where you don’t have to order outside.  I’ll probably even ditch my ratty sweatshirt and wear a real shirt for the night.   Fancy stuff. 

For my gift to Eric, I gave him tickets to a baseball game, one we can go to together.  I like to think of things he enjoys when I’m planning dates, and I’ve found that outings make nice gifts.  There are, after all, only so many shirts I can buy him.

I thought I’d share some, so here’s…

10 Date-Gifts for your man

1.    A sporting event:  If tickets are too pricey or the event is too far away, find a local league to go cheer on. 

 

2.    A sporty activity:  What are his interests?  Take him fishing, hiking, bowling, golfing, or bike riding. 

  

3.    Manly movie and dinner:  Go to see an action film, foreign language film, or whatever your husband is into.  What kind of restaurant would he choose?  Something loud with a game on television?  Or maybe or a farm-fresh artisan place is more his style. 

 

4.   Concerts or shows:  Eric took me to the symphony for my birthday last year, and it was great!  Find a concert by his favorite band or a local offering of his style of music.  Maybe he would enjoy a play or comedy show instead?

  

5.   Picnic in the park:  If you bake and pack his favorite foods, he’ll feel special!  If he’s not into laying on a blanket for long chats, bring a fun card game or plan a nature walk nearby.

 

6.   Retro date:  Revisit the places you used to frequent when you were first dating.  Reminisce about when you were a younger couple and keep the mood upbeat. 

 

7.   Plan a night in:  If you’re busy, busy, your hubby might appreciate a night in.  Clean the house, ship off the kids, get pretty, and cook his favorite dinner.  Then set aside the whole night for whatever he wants to do.  I’ve actually heard a whole group of men in a marriage group say this was their greatest desire!

 

8.   Take him out for lunch and shopping:  Yes, men like to shop.  You just have to ask yourself where.  Eric would love a gift card and patient wife while he browsed around Home Depot or Rockler.  He’d also love a bookstore or surfing shop.  What would your guy like?  Gourmet foods, clothing, shoes, office supplies, electonics, video games…the list is endless!

  

9.   Amusement park:  Ride all the fast rides you can’t go on when the kids are with you!

    10.   Celebrate his hobbies:  My mom took her train-crazy husband to a train museum recently.  Look   for: conventions, home shows, galleries, gardens and museums featuring his special interest.

 

Tips:

·         If you don’t have something specific to wrap up, like a gift card or tickets, make a certificate detailing what you’ll do.  Other ideas:  A brochure, a collage, an invitation, or a gift basket with items for your special day.

 

·         Be sure to arrange for childcare if needed on the special day, and even take over the driving if he’d appreciate it.  That way, he won’t have to do anything but show up!

 

·         Consider his schedule.  If he has to request time off of work in advance, make plans, but let him choose the date.  This is when a certificate comes in handy.

 

·         Remember, it’s all about him!

 

Anyone have any more creative date or gift ideas?  Please share!

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. mamala permalink
    April 8, 2009 4:27 am

    Great and grand ideers Duck.
    I love doing things that Skid just gets so excited about. He really is a simple guy–anything to do with trains, muscle cars, da beach, ships or boats, rivers lakes or criks–and he is pleased as punch.
    In fact we have a blast just taking our legendary ‘drives’ to wherever. It is the best life.

  2. April 10, 2009 8:29 am

    I’m visiting from the 31 Day Better Blog Challenge. Thought I’d get a look at some of the other blogs and bloggers. I really like your list post. I didn’t write as much with mine, just left it as a link list. My husband didn’t like sports so it was tricky to find something to get him for birthdays and other occasions when I felt like getting something. Mostly I cooked a good dinner and we spent time together. I’d listen and watch to see if there was something he needed, new shirt, or whatever came along. I find that is the best way to know what people really want/ need.

  3. April 10, 2009 9:00 am

    Hmmmmmmm I’ll send a link to this list to my wife, and let you know if anything comes of it. ; )

  4. turtlemomma permalink
    April 10, 2009 11:00 am

    This is great and another reason why I like your blog. All your fun ideas for home and the wholesome ideas for our hearts.
    🙂 Joy

  5. April 10, 2009 12:21 pm

    This is a great list. I am not married, but I can use some of these ideas for my male friends.

    I found your blog via the Problogger 31DBBB.

  6. April 10, 2009 7:28 pm

    Sometimes the best gift is a handmade gift. My husband and I have three children – on his birthday I complete a DVD with four chapters. The first three were of our children from infancy to now and the fourth was all of him and the kids together. He still watches it at least once a month.

  7. angelamills permalink*
    April 14, 2009 6:54 pm

    What a great idea!! I love it!

  8. angelamills permalink*
    April 14, 2009 6:57 pm

    A great idea for friends as well! Thanks!

  9. angelamills permalink*
    April 14, 2009 6:57 pm

    Awww, thanks, Joy!

  10. angelamills permalink*
    April 14, 2009 6:58 pm

    That’s great!! Maybe I’ll write one with ideas for husbands!

Trackbacks

  1. The I Love My Husband Book « Angela Mills
  2. 100 Posts! Some of My Favorite Comments « Angela Mills

Leave a Reply

