Skip to content

A Good Week

April 2, 2009

This has been one of those weeks. The kind where I think, Wow, I am really glad I homeschool my kids! I so often share frustrations and weaknesses to reveal God’s ongoing work in my life, and hopefully encourage you who may share the same struggles. Today, I want to share a couple little bright spots.

Yesterday, Soleil came up to me and plopped her Bible in my lap. “Can you read me Luke 14?” She said.

Well, sure. We read Luke 14, and she shared her thoughts with me afterwards. Why Luke 14? I don’t know. But the fact that my little girl can come up to me any time of day and ask for that, and that I can sit on my couch in the morning, reading God’s word is…awesome.

Then today, after a fun-filled park day, we went to get knitting needles and yarn for the girls. A young girl there at the park is teaching the other girls how to knit, and Ccoc and Soleil are very interested. Tonight, again on the couch, Coco patiently taught me the steps she’s learned so far.

“Just think, Mom,” she said. “If I wasn’t homeschooled I never would have learned how to knit.”

“True.” I smiled.

“Or have gotten interested in horseback riding and volleyball.”

“Yep. And Spanish.” I added. I played it cool, but I was beaming inside. This coming from my girl who was skeptical about homeschooling (to put it nicely) was a blessing indeed.

So, a good week. What can I say? I’m easy to please.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mamala permalink
    April 3, 2009 12:53 pm

    No darlin’ I think you are not easy to please–but rather brilliant enough to recognize what is most lovely, most flavorful, most tenuous, most startling, most prized.

  2. turtlemomma permalink
    April 4, 2009 10:27 am

    Im giving out your awesome blog addy to a friend via myspace. Im making my sissy n law a “homekeeping” book using ideas from the ones you posted. 🙂 She hired me to come to her house to help her be a better house keeper and to help her clean her house. Me of all people!!
    Anywho, some reason I havent gotten your last 3 blogs so I gotta get on here and catch up!! I think my email is failing. I enjoy your blogs and organizational and now Im using them to help people! thanks again , Angela.
    Joy

  3. angelamills permalink*
    April 9, 2009 8:24 pm

    Joy, thanks! That is so cool, I’m glad you can use it!

Leave a Reply

