Skip to content

My Timer, My Friend

March 14, 2009

I got a few inches cut off my hair a while back and my first thought was, it’ll take much less time to dry!  Curious as to just how much time I might be saving, I timed myself the next day found it took me only seven minutes to blow out and curl my hair.  Seven minutes!  I really had no excuse anymore to not do my hair.

Inspired, I began timing myself for all sorts of tasks.  Making a healthy smoothie for snack instead of reaching for the nearest thing in the pantry?  Four minutes.  Including cleaning the blender and putting it away!

Filing my nails, reading a short devotion in the afternoon to boost my day, even filling my water bottle before I leave the house…all for a few measly minutes of my day.

Like so many mamas, I have all the time in the world to wait for my five year old to brush her hair all by herself, or to help my seventh grader with a math problem.  When it comes to the little things that will make my own day brighter, though, I too often mumble… I don’t have time! 

The timer has shown me otherwise, like when I say I have nothing to wear and my husband points to my jam-packed closet and answers, Really, Ang, nothing to wear?   Just the other day I was about to begin my day with a wet mop that would dry frizzy and my ticking little friend reminded me.  Really, Angela?  You don’t have seven minutes?   And off to the hair dryer I went.

One Comment leave one →
  1. mamala permalink
    March 16, 2009 1:38 pm

    Yes!
    You did it again–Just cut through the familiar rant, straight to the quietly beating heart of the matter– calmly going about it’s business–Foiled again.
    Brava Duck.

Leave a Reply

