Skip to content

A Plan for the Housekeeping-Challenged

February 21, 2009

The last couple days, I’ve shared about my homekeeping book, filled with menu plans, recipes, grocery lists, and cleaning schedules. 

 

I said I would share my cleaning plan, and I will.  First, though, I should say that there are lots of great systems out there, I am only sharing mine because maybe somewhere there is another mom who has the same kind of brain as me and will find this useful.

 

Also, a confession:  I am great at coming up with systems, not so great at keeping up with them. Some weeks, my cleaning plan sits collecting dust while I attend to other things.  However, when I do buckle down, this is the easiest way I’ve found of doing things.  I’ve taken suggestions from several books and websites and made a plan that works for me. 

 

It is slightly embarrassing to admit that I need this list!  I am just not a natural housekeeper, which seems so unladylike!  Yet, it is better to just face it already and do what I have to do to keep up.  This is what I have to do to keep up.

 

My cleaning schedule has three sections, Daily (things I need to do each morning and evening), Weekly, and Declutter.

 

Here’s a week’s sample. 

 

Daily:

Morning:

Laundry

Make bed (Yes, I need a reminder still)

Empty dishwasher

Go over priorities for day

Any evening chores not done

 

Evening:

Wipe down counters/toilets in bathrooms

Dishes/Counters/Kitchen table/Stove

Vacuum kitchen

Put away toys, mail, etc.

Dining room table cleared and cleaned

Go over lesson plans for next day

 

Weekly: 

Monday: Living room

Tuesday:  Kitchen

Wednesday:  Bathroom/Bedroom/Closet

Thursday:  Errands

Fridays:  School area/Clean out purse and car/Plan school week

Saturday:  Catch up on any chores not done

 

I try to spend an hour or so every day on weekly chores.  It hardly ever happens, so oftentimes I am doing all my catching up on Saturdays.  For each weekly area, I actually have a checklist with details for each room.  (Such as, vacuum, dust, scrub shower, etc.) You would think after ten years in the same house I wouldn’t need it, but I actually still use this list. 

 

Declutter:

Monday:  Video cabinet

Tuesday:    Pantry

Wednesday:  Bathroom cabinet

Friday:  Binders

 

When making my schedules, I added all the little areas that need regular de-cluttering.  They repeat about every two months.  I have 18 cleaning weeks, to coincide with my menu plans.  This way, whatever week I am on, it is all there in my little binder:  Menus, grocery lists, and cleaning schedules. 

 

Tomorrow or Monday, I’ll share about making a homekeeping book for your daughters. 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. mamala permalink
    February 22, 2009 10:07 am

    You should teach special ed teachers how to teach. You cover every contingency–with clear, reasonable directives. The visualization of your days must help so much.

  2. turtlemomma permalink
    February 22, 2009 7:41 pm

    May I say..HOLY COW with the lists!
    They are so complete and clear and organized and diligent . I am amazed. And wowed. I could never be such a list maker or follower but, I can use a few of your ideas and start making my days a little more organized from your posts. 😉
    You would be a good teacher to adults as well as your kids.
    Maybe you could post a few scanned pictures of your lists as examples or something.
    Good Job Angela!

  3. February 26, 2009 8:47 pm

    Mom, thanks…I think

  4. February 26, 2009 8:47 pm

    Joy-
    I will try to get some examples up. Lists rule!

  5. July 27, 2009 10:48 pm

    I’m seriously copying/tweaking your list right now! I seriously need to do this. I can’t even find the crib at this point!

Trackbacks

  1. A Plan for the Housekeeping-Challenged « Angela Mills | www.housekeepers.com

Leave a Reply

