Skip to content

My Dog Ate My Blog Post and Other Excuses

February 16, 2009

It’s been five days since I last posted, and I’m fully aware that I have broken the first rule of blogging:  Blog regularly! 

 

Once you hear why, I think you’ll be inclined to forgive me.  My brother got married Friday!  Coco and I were bridesmaids; Soleil was the flower girl, and Eric the best man.  All waking hours last week were consumed with the wedding J

 

Wednesday, I was up half the night ironing very stubborn tablecloths.  When my alarm went off Thursday at 5am to write, I snoozed it for a good two hours.

 

Thursday morning, I squeezed in an early dentist appointment before we set off to decorate the church for the reception and had the rehearsal and dinner.  Then, the wedding party and four of the bride’s out of town friends all crashed at our house for a girls’ night. 

 

Friday was the wedding, and after staying to clean up, we arrived home at 1am with three guests.  My husband was on-call for work and was called twice during the night.  A little one had a bad dream.  I could only dream of sleep.

 

Saturday morning, I awoke early to a phone call arranging shuttles for our guests.  I then went to a morning Bible study and raced home for an appointment at our house with a flooring company.  While the man was going over an estimate for flooring, I worked up an estimate of my own and figured I had seven hours of sleep total over three days. 

 

After some family time on Saturday night, I dropped into bed.  We turned off the phones and alarms.  Finally, I could catch up on some sleep!  And sleep I did, until my husband gallantly woke me at 11am. I forgave him instantly for interrupting my REM when I saw in his hands was a steaming hot tray of breakfast.  The wedding inspired him, I think.

 

I ate leisurely in bed, while Soleil set up an additional tray next to me and filled it with my pretend breakfast.  It was lovely. 

 

Since I only write when the kids are sleeping, I enjoyed a nice Sunday of catching up on cleaning and washing the massive amounts of bedding we went through.  We had no distractions, except for one welcome one. 

 

My dad called to say they’d like to have the girls Monday for a visit.  This means as soon as Eric gets home from a couple hours of work, we are going to enjoy a rare day alone together.

 

So there they are:  My excuses.  What do you say, can you forgive me? 

 

 

Tomorrow, I’ll be back on schedule and I can’t wait to share some things God sneaked into my heart at the wedding.  Until then, Happy President’s Day! 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. turtlemomma permalink
    February 17, 2009 11:44 am

    Those sound like wonderful excuses to me! I hope you had a happy valentines day and enjoyed your sunday rest. Sometimes moms really need that day of rest!
    Send my best and Congrats to Jacob. May God Bless em Both.
    Put up lots of pix when you can and I think I can forgive you. Hee hee.
    I do enjoy your blog, sometimes it makes me think of doing one myself! Xcept I dont know how. If you ever need easy dinner ideas or other fun things to do ideas for your page, lemmie know. I might have something intresting for ya. 😉
    Joy

  2. angelamills permalink*
    February 19, 2009 3:16 pm

    Thanks! Starting a blog is the easiest thing! Just go to wordpress.com and create an account. It pretty much walks you through the steps. Put “Blogging” in google and you’ll find all kinds of resources. Or, if you want to post something, just email it to me. If you start your own, be sure to let me know so I can link to you! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Lesson From a New Bride « Angela Mills

Leave a Reply

