Skip to content

10 Things That Surprise Me About Homeschool: Part 2

February 6, 2009

Yesterday, I covered 5 of 10 things that surprise me about homeschool.  

 

I’ll admit I had some reservations about being my girls’ only teacher.  Determined to follow God’s will for us, Eric and I clasped hands and started down this path, not knowing what was in store.  I have been most pleasantly surprised to find that homeschool works really well for our family.

 

Some more surprises:

 

6.  We have more time than we need. 

I was afraid I would barely be able to cover the necessary subjects.  There aren’t enough hours in the day to learn all I want to cover.

 

Somehow, one semester in, we’ve done not only the basics, but tons of fun stuff too.  It’s mysterious…kind of like when you tithe and your budget doesn’t work out on paper but it somehow comes through every month.  Life has a way of making room for the important things. If you allow it to… 

 

7.  I am flexible (AKA not a control freak)

I was a preschool teacher, so I knew I would have patience to let the girls learn at their own pace.  But would I be able to handle shifting schedules, unexpected interruptions, and rabbit trails?  Highly doubtable.

 

I like things somewhat in order, which is never good for a God-following gal.  What is startling to me is that the little twitch I used to get when things didn’t go according to plan has disappeared.  I am easy going and carefree, along for this ride called homeschool.  Weird.

               

8.  My husband loves it.

Although we made the decision to start homeschool together, I had doubts that Eric would appreciate our new life. 

 

In spite of the mess and the relaxed schedule, Eric just loves having our kids home all day.  He not only appreciates all this, he is involved and excited.  Considering his first reaction was “No way!” this is miraculous indeed.

       

9.  I still have a life.

I went into this homeschool thing with the expectation that I would sacrifice myself for the next thirteen years.  How noble, right?  Thank God that He did not require that! 

 

As much as I love being with my kids, God gives me a little break from time to time so I can refresh.  I still have interests, activities, and a personality outside of home.  Very unexpected.

 

10. Little old me just might be the best teacher my kids will ever have.

Now this is the biggest shocker of all.  How could I, like, teach my kids?  I coasted through high school and only went to college long enough to get the job I wanted.  I now appreciate that no matter how many degrees they have, no other teacher around will love my kids like I do. 

 

What’s love got to do with it?  Everything. My love for them is what drives me to find the best way to teach them what they need to know.  And you can bet I’m not going to move on until they fully grasp a concept. 

 

Best of all, both girls think I’m the coolest teacher around.  Yeah, I’m the only teacher around, but I can live with that. 

 

Whether or not you’re a homeschool parent, you can agree that life is surprising. I still don’t know what the next few years will bring but if homeschool has taught me anything, it’s that God gives you just what you need for each moment he’s brought you to.  For me, that’s enough. 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. homeschoolingohio permalink
    February 6, 2009 6:39 pm

    I have one word to say…. AMEN!!!!
    Great post, thanks for sharing!

  2. homeschoolingohio permalink
    February 6, 2009 6:39 pm

    I have one word to say…. AMEN!!!!
    Great post, thanks for sharing!

  3. February 7, 2009 9:52 am

    I have other Christian friends who’ve done home-schooling. Didn’t do it myself, but I certainly extended my children’s learning process – got them weighing and measuring, reading recipes, discussing chemistry when cookies bake – and so on and so forth. So I’m not against it. But it still worries me that there’s a lack of social contact; no appreciation of other adults being in authority; and therefore, no preparation for being out in the real world – horrible as it is.

    Sorry, that isn’t meant to sound critical. But I’m just not convinced. God bless, all the same. He’s obviously leading you and that’s all that matters.
    Mel Menzies, author of A Painful Post Mortem, a story of love and loss.

  4. angelamills permalink*
    February 7, 2009 10:16 am

    Lack of social contact is a common concern, and I used to think the same thing! Especially my oldest, Coco…she was very social and popular in school. But if you spent one day with any homeschool family we know you’d be relieved. Our girls, like most we know, are involved in sports, church, homeschool group activities and they both have a few really close friends they see often.

    As for other adults in authority…I am happy to say my kids are for better behaved for most other parents (including 3 sets of grandparents) than they are for us. Isn’t it always that way? We’re very fortunate to be part of a community of believers that all treat each others kids like our own. Like I imagine it was in the old days when the mom down the block would scold you if you were misbehaving.

    I had some pretty sad ideas about homeschool before I started, so I’m not offended at all. It took quite a bit of convincing on our part that God really wanted this for us! If we did not feel led, believe me, my kids would be in school right now. But I am so glad we obeyed, because obviously I love this life! I am happy to have been proven wrong.
    Thanks for sharing!

  5. February 9, 2009 6:11 pm

    Rabbit trails and other teachable moments are often my favorite parts of the day (although I will stress a bit if we don’t get the real work for the day done too). It also amazes me the amount that gets done if we don’t have all the weird one day holidays like public schools. That gives more time for rabbit trails without feeling like we’re getting “behind”. I actually felt we were “ahead” a lot this year.

  6. angelamills permalink*
    February 9, 2009 6:39 pm

    That is awesome, I am learning to appreciate them as well! I am really enjoying how “school” works into every part of our life. I am definitely still learning!

  7. Sharon4Jesus permalink
    March 26, 2009 11:48 am

    This is my 7th yr homeschooling after having my children come home from public school. I have a 12th gr daughter and 10th gr son and a 21 yo son attending Cal Baptist U. The thing that I really love about homeschooling is our close relationship. I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Whereas teens generally pull away from their parents and use their peer group to share all the secrets, my children haven’t done this. I know that being home is the result of that.

    Another wonderful thing about teaching at home, is that your child can learn what interests him or her in addition to the core curriculm. My daughter loves history and was able to study US military history as a result. Homeschooling after being in the public system through fifth grade made her really love the freedom she had to learn all the extra tidbits that she now had time to pursue.

    As an added note, when my son went off the college, he informed me that I over prepared him – it was way to easy!

Leave a Reply

