Skip to content

Staying on Track

February 2, 2009

Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own.  Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track.

 Proverbs 3:5-6 (Message)

 

 

A few short weeks after getting renewed focus for this new year, I am in need of a refresher.  Here I am, still struggling to wake up early enough to make time for the things He’s called me to do.  Still behind on my laundry.  And, yeah, I ate all kinds of simple carbs last weekend. 

 

Day to day, I see the self-discipline I was so intent on holding onto this year slipping away.  I have such vision for what God might have in store for me this year, but not always the drive to make it happen. 

 

And that’s where God gets me, every time.  I don’t need to make anything happen.  I just need to be me, and continue to live out my life in His strength, day to day.

 

Yes, we all need disciplines in our daily life, but for me it is easy to blur the line between seeking God and seeking goals.  Being all tied up in knots over what I haven’t yet accomplished, or how I’ve screwed up, is not how it’s supposed to be.  Proverbs tells us, God is the one that will keep us on track.  

 

Too often, instead of allowing God to keep me on track, I make charts and checklists and in general drive myself nuts.  So I ask myself, ‘What now?’  I’ve been corrected by God’s own word.  Will I step back and let go of my desire to control outcomes?  Will I rest in his strength every day and stop trying to do things on my own?

 

I’m not even going to try to figure this one out.  I’m going to post this verse somewhere I can see it and ask God to remind me every day to trust, and to listen. 

 

I’m still learning.  Will you join me?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mamala permalink
    February 3, 2009 9:28 am

    Ducky, I think your problem is that you aren’t lazy enough. I can’t see why, either–you had the supreme example right there through your whole childhood! Lazy is wonderful. It’s luxuriousness feeds my soul, lets me just breathe. It is also boring beyond belief after a time–so happily, I get back to the business at hand. . .but really . . .the comfort of seeing her (lil’ miz lazy) curled up with a book, ever waiting for me to plop down for a just a bit, always puts the skids on fast-forward. I just love my life so. It does help to be married to a man with no conditions on his love for me–he is just as happy, whether I accomplish something every day–or I don’t.
    We probably rest and luxuriate way too often–but it won’t ever change, ’cause we are happy.
    So I am going to pray for you to allow yourself to pause without guilt.
    It’s lovely.

  2. turtlemomma permalink
    February 3, 2009 1:48 pm

    I guess Im the opposite. Ive been too lax. Lazy even. This has been a good verse today for me. I need to listen to Gods voice and let Him help me keep on track. Today I really feel off the tracks!
    May the Lord work in both our lives, keeping us on HiS track.
    Joy

Leave a Reply

