Skip to content

I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas

December 23, 2008

No, I’m not talking about snow. I’m dreaming of the Christmas classic starring Danny Kaye and Bing Crosby himself.  Every year I promise myself I will take the two plus hours to sit and watch one of my favorites, and nearly every year the season passes without it. 

 

The main obstacle is that my family is not yet a fan of the film.  Although, it’s been so long since we’ve had it on that my five year old has never seen it.  [Note to self:  She may prove to be an ally.]  This year, I have upped the campaign, singing “Sisters” to my girls as I sashay around the kitchen serving breakfast and reminiscing about the beautiful gowns the women wear.  The truth is: of course I could force my kids to sit down and watch it with me, but between our family favorite, The Christmas Story, the must-see Miracle on 34th Street, and new sure-to-be classic, Elf…who has the time?

 

Like most moms, little things I’d like to do are never too high on my to-do list. Or, truthfully, even on the list.  Today, though, I am seriously considering blowing off the gym and sneaking the movie in between batches of cookies.  And why not?  With the upcoming hustle and bustle of the next two days (my husband and I have 5 Christmases to visit between us) a good, restful snuggle with an old favorite seems sure to refresh us all.  Wishing you a Merry Christmas with your loved ones!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

