Skip to content

SpellQuizzer Review and Giveaway!

November 8, 2009

spellquizzer

 

A while ago, I was given a copy of SpellQuizzer spelling software to review. When the company first approached me, I wasn’t interested because we are very happy with Spelling Power for Coco (13) and I do not use a formal spelling program for Soleil (6).

However, the creator encouraged me to try it alongside Spelling Power, and I am so glad I did! I can’t get Soleil off of it, and though I didn’t plan to do spelling with her this year, she loves this software so much we have been using it for fun. Coco has been using it as well.

SpellQuizzer has generously agreed to give away a copy here on my blog! At the end of this post, I will tell you how to enter.  If you don’t win, though, you can always check out the 30 Day free trial that SpellQuizzer offers.

It is important to note that SpellQuizzer is definitely not just for homeschoolers. I wish I would have had this back when Coco was in school and she had to practice for weekly tests.

So how does SpellQuizzer work?

It is very simple. You can either enter your own spelling list, or use one of the many pre-set lists. The SpellQuizzer web site has pre-made downloadable spelling lists that you can download and use with SpellQuizzer. For each word, you can record yourself saying the word and a sentence, just like you would if you were drilling your child or giving them a practice test.

Users can easily export and import SpellQuizzer spelling lists to share with other SpellQuizzer users.

The beauty of using the program is the kids can practice their spelling words on their own. Any busy mom will like this, but I imagine moms of large families will especially appreciate this.

The program does require use of a PC microphone, but you can get one for less than $10 at most department stores. We happened to have one already. If you choose to use a pre-set list, or simply a written sentence, then you don’t need the microphone at all. However, I don’t think I would use this program without a microphone. It’s just so fun!

When your child goes to use the software, they click on their list and hear your voice giving them the spelling words. They type in the word, and if it is correct, it goes to the next word. If they spell it wrong, it will show the correct spelling. It’s fun to record the lists, and something you could have older kids do for younger ones.

SpellQuizzer complements any spelling or vocabulary program. If your child is in school, or using a traditional spelling program at home, it is a breeze to enter each week’s list in.

On a personal note, I had some trouble the first week with the software. I emailed the company, and within minutes I received a reply telling me to download their latest update for Windows XP. I haven’t had any trouble since, but it’s nice to know the customer service is there if I need it.

SpellQuizzer has a page on the site specifically directed toward homeschoolers:

SpellQuizzer for Homeschoolers.

Check out the demo on the site:

SpellQuizzer Demo

So, how has SpellQuizzer worked for us? Great! Soleil has learned to spell many new words just through “playing.” Coco, though, has really benefited from the extra practice. It shows in her daily writing and her daily spelling tests. The best part is that they actually ask if they can do it!

If you are interested in SpellQuizzer and would like to win a copy of your own, leave a comment on this post. I will randomly select a winner on Monday, November 16. The winner will be listed here and notified by email.

28 Comments
  1. Stacy permalink
    November 8, 2009 6:29 pm

    sounds pretty cool.. Becca needs help with spelling and this sounds great :-)

  2. Alexis permalink
    November 8, 2009 9:02 pm

    My kids love to use the computer and can definitely benefit from some spelling help. Thank you!

  3. Veronica permalink
    November 8, 2009 11:20 pm

    This sounds like a very cool software. I am a very bad at spelling! My kids could definitely benefit from something like this, so they don’t learn from my horrible spelling:)
    Thanks for this info…

  4. November 9, 2009 5:20 am

    Sounds like something my youngest would enjoy. She loves to do stuff on the computer, and she just started spelling instruction this year.

  5. Charyti permalink
    November 9, 2009 8:06 am

    That sounds like something that would work great for our children. I have yet to find a program that really works with our oldest.

  6. Heather permalink
    November 9, 2009 9:01 am

    What a wonderful program to promote independence and responsibility for your children…and spelling can be so challenging.

  7. November 10, 2009 3:15 am

    Sounds great! I would love to win.

    Visiting via The Homeschool Lounge. Have a great day!

  8. November 10, 2009 12:26 pm

    Wow! I like EVERYTHING I read on this site. Very unusual! This sounds great – definitely going to try to win. Thanks again, Angela.

  9. Crickett permalink
    November 10, 2009 12:48 pm

    Sounds wonderful! I loved your review, very thorough. Spelling is not a strength of one or two of my children so this would be a welcomed addition to our family. ;-D

  10. Susan permalink
    November 10, 2009 12:51 pm

    I have a couple children that could benefit greatly from this. Please enter me!! :o)

  11. Jill S. permalink
    November 10, 2009 12:59 pm

    SpellQuizzer looks like an interesting tool. Seems like a fun and painless way to improve spelling!

  12. November 10, 2009 1:16 pm

    I have 5 boys, only two of them in school so far but I have SOoooo many spelling tests ahead of me. It would be nice to keep up with the daily quizzes in a new and exciting way. I would love to see how this programs works with our spelling program, Spell to Write and Read. I am supposed to do daily quizzes, and often get behind.

    Thank you for this contest.

  13. Sarah Dwyer permalink
    November 10, 2009 1:24 pm

    I this this program sounds perfect for my 8 year old son, who has trouble with his spelling (due to dysgraphia)!

  14. November 10, 2009 3:39 pm

    Sounds interesting it might be great to try out.

  15. November 10, 2009 5:16 pm

    I’m all for help when it comes to spelling! I would like to enter to win. Thanks! Cheryl

  16. November 10, 2009 6:07 pm

    Thanks for sharing about this. It sounds like a neat thing!

    Blessings
    Leslie

  17. DeeAnn permalink
    November 10, 2009 6:17 pm

    This looks great. I taught school for 10 years and would have loved this in the classroom. All of my students had individual tests and this would have been fantastic. I am going to pass the idea onto my classroom teaching friends.

  18. Ari permalink
    November 11, 2009 5:54 am

    I just read abot this spelling program in a curriculum magazine and wanted to try it out! Thanks for the chance.

  19. Jamie permalink
    November 11, 2009 6:19 am

    I would love this! I’m thinking you could even test over phonograms, if you teach that way!

  20. November 11, 2009 7:12 am

    wow thanks for shairing aobut his. It sounds great!

  21. November 11, 2009 10:21 am

    Sounds like a great program. Would love to get a copy for my girls to use with our workboxes. Thanks for the chance!

  22. Lindsay James permalink
    November 12, 2009 2:32 am

    This would be great for us with one dyslexic son and one ADHD anything that keeps them focused is of hugh benifit. Thanks so much for sharing with us.

  23. November 12, 2009 1:12 pm

    We’d love a copy! Thanks for the chance to participate in the giveaway!

  24. Gabreial permalink
    November 12, 2009 5:13 pm

    Exciting! Thanks so much for sharing and for the great giveaway.

  25. Kris permalink
    November 12, 2009 8:42 pm

    Thank you so much for offering this opportunity! Spelling is tough here at our house and we have been looking for a program just like this.

  26. Barcelona Red permalink
    November 13, 2009 5:56 am

    This sounds like so much fun. Would love to give it a try!

  27. November 14, 2009 8:07 pm

    Sounds great! I’d love to be entered. Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. SpellQuizzer Winner… « Angela Mills

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

